Driving on a Revoked or Suspended License


There are a number of reasons your drivers license may be suspended or revoked.  It may have been taken as a result of a conviction for DUI/DWI, reckless driving, or a drug conviction.  Additionally, failing to pay fines or court costs in a timely fashion after a conviction can lead to the suspension of your license.  The DMV may administratively suspend your license due to accumulation of points on your driving record.  Finally, if your privilege to drive in Virginia has been suspended as a result of a prior conviction, driving outside those restrictions can be charged as driving on a revoked or suspended license.

A charge of driving on a suspended or revoked license is a Class 1 misdemeanor, and is punishable by up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.  A third or subsequent conviction within 10 years is punishable by a 10-day mandatory minimum jail sentence.

Home | Attorney Profiles | Practice Areas | News | Contact Copyright © 2014 Richmond Law Group, PLLC. All rights reserved.

4103 Chain Bridge Road, | Suite 100 | Fairfax, Virginia 22030 | Phone: 703-272-8665 | Fax: 703-997-0309         

The material and information contained on these pages and on any pages linked from these pages is intended to provide general information only and not legal advice. You should consult with an attorney licensed to practice in your jurisdiction before relying upon any of the information presented here.
Disclaimer | Sitemap | Law Firm Web Design by Law Promo